1952-55: State Scholar at University College, London.

1955: B.Sc.(Economics) with first class honours, University of London.

1955: Fellow, Royal Geographical Society

1955: Fulbright Scholar at University College, Oxford, and to travel to University of Washington.

1958: Elected to Sigma Xi.

1960: Association of American Geographers’ Participation Fellowship, XIXth International Geographical Congress, based on essay competition for younger geographers.

1962: Social Science Research Council Auxiliary Research Award “so that you will be able to take advantage of research opportunities that you might otherwise have to forego.” This was a ‘proto-MacArthur’ award.

1966-87: Most frequently cited geographer. As reported in Social Science Citation Index, most frequently cited geographer each year 1966-1982 (J.W.R. Whitehand, 1985). Through 1980 citation level was several times that of second-ranked geographer. Most frequently cited geographer 1983-1987; more articles and more books in ‘top twenty citation classic’ listings than any other geographer (N. Wrigley and S. Matthews, 1987). Authored more “citation classics” – both books and articles – than the next several authors combined. (A.R. Bodman, 1994)

1966: Vice-President, Regional Science Association.

1968: Elected to International Land Economics Fraternity of Lambda Alpha (Ely Chapter).

1968: Association of American Geographers’ Award for Meritorious Contributions to the Field of Geography.

1970: Member, Maconochie Foundation, University College, London.

1974: Research Fellow, Urban Land Institute.

1975: Elected member of National Academy of Sciences (“youngest social scientist ever to be so honored”). Membership in the Academy is described as “the highest honor that a scientist can receive from his peers save for a Nobel Prize.”

1976: Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

1976: A.M. (hon. caus.) Harvard University.

1977-78: Vice-President, Association of American Geographers.

1978: Charter Member, American Institute of Certified Planners.

1978-79: President, Association of American Geographers.

1980: Rt. Hon. Order of Kentucky Colonels

1983: Fellow, University College, London.

1987: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science.

1987: James R. Anderson Medal of Honor, Association of American Geographers.

1988: Victoria Medal, Royal Geographical Society.

1989: Fellow of the British Academy. The Academy was established by Royal Charter in 1902 and is counterpart in the social sciences and humanities to the Royal Society, which exists to serve the physical and biological sciences.

1990: Hon. Fellow, Weimer School of Advanced Studies in Real Estate and Land Economics and the Homer Hoyt Institute.

1991: Polykarp Kusch Lecturer, University of Texas at Dallas. The Kusch Lecture is UTD’s highest faculty honor.

1992: Nelson A. Rockefeller Monograph Prize in the Social Sciences.

1995: Distinguished Fellow, Southern Regional Science Association.

2000: Lord of the Manors of Hastingleigh, Co. Kent. Hastingleigh Court was anciently held by wife’s ancestors and Aldelose by Brian’s.

2004: Member, Texas Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science (TAMEST was created in 2004. Membership is restricted to members of the National Academies).

2004: IAMOT Excellence in Research Award in the field of Technology Innovation Management. International Association for the Management of Technology.

2004: Letters Patent granting a Coat of Arms, Crest and Standard issued by the College of Arms (a branch of the Royal Household) in London.

Coat of Arms

2005: Distinguished Alumnus Award, “credited with changing the course of his discipline.” University of Washington, College to Arts and Sciences “Celebration of Distinction.”

2005: Named the Lauréat du Prix International de Géographie ‘Vautrin Lud.’ The internationally juried Vautrin Lud Prize was created in 1991, modeled after the Nobel Prize,  and is now known as the “Nobel Prize for Geography.” The citation reads, “Pour se haute contribution scientifique a l’avencement de la géopgrahpie dans le monde.”

2006: Fellow, American Institute of Certified Planners.

 2007: Walter Isard Award for Scholarly Achievement, North American Council of the Regional Science Association International.

2012: Distinguished Alumnus ‘Timeless’ Award, University of Washington, 150th Anniversary Celebration

2012: Fellow, Regional Science Association International

2017: Named Kondratieff Medal Laureate by the International N.D. Kondratieff Foundation, acting with the authority of the Russian Academy of Sciences

2018: Honored as one of the “Great Minds” of Regional Science by the Regional Science International Academy in a special session at the Academy’s annual meeting.

2020: American Association of Geographers’ Stan Brunn Award for Creativity in Geography, which recognizes an individual geographer or team that has demonstrated originality, creativity, and significant intellectual breakthroughs in geography. Citation reads, “The AAG is recognizing you as one of the most influential figures in the disciplines of geography, urban studies, and regional planning. Your early urban and regional research helped spark the scientific revolution that occurred in geography and urban research in the early 1960s, making you the world’s most frequently cited geographer for more than 25 years. Throughout your distinguished career you have successfully bridged theory and practice and have been heavily involved in urban and regional planning in both advanced and developing countries.”

Recent Posts